New Track: Atoms For Peace

So what happens when two divisive rock n roll characters come together to create music which aims to immerse itself between electronic sounds and live performance? I’m going to guess that 40% will hail it as revolutionary, 40% will dub it utter dog-shit, 10% will be uninterested / nonplussed and a the final 10% won’t even know what Flea is. I have no time for the latter 20% in my mathematical breakdown of how Atoms For Peace’s very first track will be received by the general public. Atoms For Peace are, if you didn’t know already, the current side project of Thom Yorke and Flea, two men who have as many fans as enemies, and there debut single – ‘Default’ – is currently streaming on the band’s website.

Thom has posted the following statement at “You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms for Peace. The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with Mauro, Joey, Nigel and Flea. We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing. Immersed in the area between the two… electronic and live. The first tune we’d like you hear is Default. A 12″ vinyl version will follow next month and an album will eventually follow that next year.

The debut album from Atoms For Peace is set for release in 2013, also on XL Recordings. The record will feature Thom on vocals, guitars, keys and programming with support from Nigel Godrich (production & programming), Joey Waronker (drums), Mauro Refosco (percussion) and Flea (bass).