Dream-Pop, Post-Rock & Shoegaze Mixtape 2000-2014

Dream-Pop, Post-Rock & Shoegaze

Having seen this article on the Guardian, in which they ask readers to submit three tracks that they think should feature on a mixtape showcasing the best music since the year 2000, I was compelled to create a playlist compiling the best Dream-Pop, Post-Rock and Shoegaze tracks of the 21st Century.

Our 15 track mixtape features one track released in each year between 2000-2014. Beginning with an early century flurry of monumental instrumental tracks from Godspeed You! Black Emperor (‘Storm’), Explosions in the Sky (‘Yasmin The Light’), Sigur Ros (‘Popplagið’) and M83 (‘America’), moving into the unrelenting rhythms and spontaneous guitar flourishes of Wilco (‘Spiders (Kidsmoke)’) and Yo La Tengo (‘Pass the Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind’), via Boris’ celestial shoegaze intro to their masterpiece album, 2005’s Pink.

Miracle Fortress‘ swirling psychedelic opus Five Roses seemingly appeared out of nowhere in 2007 and ‘Have You Seen In Your Dreams’ still sounds as giddily wondrous today. I could have featured Deerhunter several times in this playlist as they are undoubtedly one the of the best bands of the 21st century, but I decided on ‘Nothing Ever Happened’ as it might just be the best guitar track of the last 15 years.

2009 was a vintage year for indie (especially in Brooklyn with Grizzly Bear, Dirty Projectors and Animal Collective all releasing career high LPs), but there was some great dreamy guitar stuff out there too, including this sprawling psych-rock track from The Besnard Lakes.

2010 and 2011 gave us glorious dream-pop courtesy of The Antlers (‘I Don’t Want Love’) and Beach House (’10 Mile Stereo’), before we move back into noiser territory thanks to post-punk, post-rock, post-everything pioneers Swans (‘Mother of the World’) and the surprise return of MBV (‘Only Tomorrow’). Mogwai’s Rave Tapes has probably been my favourite album of 2014 so far, and ‘Remurdered’ proves that they can can still create albums filled with beauty and disquietude in equal measure.

Listen underneath via Songdrop.

2000: Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Storm’
2001: Explosions in the Sky – ‘Yasmin The Light’
2002: Sigur Ros – ‘Popplagið’
2003: M83 – ‘America’
2004: Wilco – ‘Spiders (Kidsmoke)’
2005: Boris – ‘Farewell’
2006: Yo La Tengo – ‘Pass the Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind’
2007: Miracle Fortress – ‘Have You Seen In Your Dreams’
2008: Deerhunter – ‘Nothing Ever Happened’
2009: The Besnard Lakes – ‘Like the Ocean, Like the the Innocent Pt. 1 & 2′
2010: Beach House – ’10 Mile Stereo’
2011: The Antlers – ‘I Don’t Want Love’
2012: Swans – ‘Mother of the World’
2013: My Bloody Valentine – ‘Only Tomorrow’
2014: Mogwai – ‘Remurdered’