The Best Albums of 2014 (part ii)

Best Albums 2014

2014: a shit year for global politics, national politics, religious politics, environmental politics, gender politics and – of course as with any year that includes a major football tournament –… Read More →

New Video: Jens Lekman

Swedish romantic Jens Lekmen has unveiled a new video (as well as a stark new hair cut) for his new single ‘Erica America’ which was released yesterday. The song is taken from his new album – I Know What Love Isn’t – which will be released on 3rd September via Secretly Canadian. The song features Lekmen’s typical flair for arrangement and song-writing craftsmanship as well as plenty of melancholic lyricism and melodies which suit his crooner singing style so well.

Here We Go Magic – A Different Ship

Here We Go Magic have certainly progressed throughout their brief but pretty damn impressive career. Initially a solo project, the band has expanded to exactly that – a band, and has their sound has progressed and swelled accordingly. They no longer sound like a solo project, all hazy loops and electronic flourishes, but a fully fledged indie rock band, one that has toured with American indie rock titans like Grizzly Bear and The Walkmen.

New Song: Here We Go Magic

It could be all to easy to overlook a band such as Here We Go Magic. In fact, the band have admitted themselves that during a live performance at Glastonbury 2010 no one in the crowd gave two hoots about the band performing onstage except for two guys at the front. But testament to the band, those two guys who were supposedly dancing around like “maniacs” were Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich. Their third album A Different Ship is out on May 7th through Secretly Canadian, listen to the song ‘Make Up Your Mind’.

New Song: Porcelain Raft

With M83 set to play the O2 Academy Oxford later this month (24th), it truly looks like that night will belong to the captivating combination of 80s synths, shoegaze vocals and sky-scraping guitar lines. A viewpoint which is only strengthened on the basis of a new song released by the evening’s support act, Porcelain Raft. ‘Unless You Speak From You Heart’ is the new single released by the band and is taken from the impending debut LP Strange Weekend, released on 23rd January courtesy of Secretly Canadian.